Imperfectly Beautiful: Dealing with Disappointments.

Imperfectly Beautiful

Live Beautifully.

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.  — John 10:10 (NIV)

Who doesn’t want to live life more abundantly, I mean is that even a fair question?!

For most people life gets so laser focused that we tend to miss the little things that make up our life.

Let me explain myself, I came to this beautiful country the great USA at the age of ten (10). During my traveling journey which took 3 days on a bus, all I heard was the opportunities that this country had for folks like me. Leaving a life behind for the “American Dream.”  So, in my ten year old head I felt invincible I knew that opportunity was knocking at my door. What I didn’t expected was coming here and not understanding one bit of the language that was spoken to me, I couldn’t be more different than everyone around me.

The image I had about life soon turned into a nightmare, I couldn’t communicate with my classmates and I didn’t even understand what the teacher was teaching me. But I didn’t let  that stop me from wanting to be successful, I learned the language and excelled in school until my ninth grade. That’s when things turned a different direction I started hanging out with a different crowd smoked my first cigarette (which I stole from my uncle) and found out about drugs. Still, I had dreams of success even in the midst of my careless youth I knew deep inside I was meant for greater things and I didn’t give up I continued with high school even though most of my friends were dropping out of school.

It was in 11th grade that I encounter a big disappointment one that would shake me to my core. As my counselor and teachers were encouraging me to follow through with college and even an army recruiter giving me big hopes for joining the military (which I wanted to do) it felt as all these opportunities are calling my name all I had to do is choose. So, I did I talked to my counselor and told her I wanted to join the Air Force. First, they tell me in different words I might not be smart enough but let’s put paperwork together and see how far you go. Well, paperwork … I hate paperwork! It was “papeles” (documents) that kept me from joining the military … see no one ever spoke about “papeles” (documents)! Sadly when I came home and asked for “papeles” like Social Security Number, ID, and the like I found out I had n o n e. Whaat!!!

Why don’t I have any “paperwork” well until this point no one took the time to explained to me that I was illegal. Such a disappointment! I was so sure of the outcome of my journey moving forward as an adult that I hit “that” wall pretty hard. I had no idea what to do with the fact that I was illegal, I didn’t even understand that term. Illegal immigrant what does that mean anyway! Well, friends life can truly drop a ball on you it did to me. How can I handle this disappointment and what do I do now?! Unfortunately, I didn’t know God then so my only escape from reality was party my life out until I couldn’t anymore.

Friend, if you are in a season of disappointment you don’t have to go at it alone, God is with you. I am with you, my encouragement and prayer for you today is that you will find rest and peace in God’s abounding grace.

And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work. — 2 Corinthians 9:8

Turn to Him [Jesus] who is able to give you peace, God promise us to equip us with all that we need in order to do every good work. Work that pleases Him and will bring hope to others and peace to you. I pray that you will draw near to God an experience His amazing grace.

I will continue this Imperfectly Beautiful series … my prayer is that you will come back next month to continue the series with me.

Leave a Reply

